A companion novel to something real

Read for free: over 180k reads on Wattpad!

 
 
 
“Heather Demetrios’ ‘The Lexie Project’ satirizes celebrity culture and is incredibly fun at the same time.”

“…it’s safe to say that after the incredibly smart and insightful Something Real, The Lexie Project will be just the kind of immersive thought experiment that will get us as readers thinking more about how we consume information, particularly when it comes to the Hollywood machine.”
— Bustle
 

Lexie Baker is ready for her close up and nobody’s gonna get in her freaking way.

Nearly a year after graduating high school and taking a hiatus from her family’s reality TV show, "Baker's Dozen," Lexie is in Los Angeles, on a mission to take Hollywood by storm. From red carpet premiers to helping her YouTube star roommate film weird videos, Lex fits right in with the droves of girls just as hungry as she is for some screen time. When Jax Wilson, a young, hot producer, offers to launch The Lexie Project, a reality show that will chronicle Lex’s adventures trying to make it as an actress in LA, she jumps at the chance. It isn’t an Oscar-winning role, but it’s a start.

Then she meets Liam, a film student who brings books to parties and is one of her twin brother’s closest friends. When it becomes clear that her brother, Benny, has a serious drinking problem that's causing his life to spiral out of control, Lexie relies on Liam to help protect her brother from the media…and himself. But spending time with Liam soon makes Lexie question if the life of a starlet is really what she wants. And if it is, how far will she go to get it?

The City of Angels soon becomes Hell on Earth and Lexie realizes that everyone—even Liam—has something they’re hiding. It’s time to find a new role to play–not the one she was cast in at birth.

This companion novel to Something Real features several major characters from the novel. Perfect for fans of Clueless and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, Lexie's novelized memoir is a multiplatform storytelling experience that reaches readers through social media, in addition to the complete novel on Wattpad.

Visit lexie on her instagram

“There’s a new girl in town and, readers, you’ll want to befriend her.”

”We’re betting...that Lexie is a force all her own...”
— HuffPost
This is a spin-off of Something Real (fun, fun book!) and a serial, which I love, by the way. The first four chapters were released on Wattpad Monday, and they’ll have you hooked until the next installment.
— USA Today